x

ADONIS:
Version 3.90.3 (Released at 02/24/2024)
- The ability to apply a force gradient or pressure to a boundary is presented.
- New tutorial is added to explain how to apply gradient boundary conditions.

HYRCAN:
Version 2.0.13 (Released at 02/03/2024)
- To allow users to import CAD files using scripting, the importmodel command is introduced.
- Program's webhelp has been reformatted.

Introducing myself(Read 5991 times)
Introducing myself on: October 28, 2021, 02:20:32 am
I don't know whether it is common in this forum to introduce yourself.
I am a senior lecturer in geotechnical engineering at the University of Oviedo, Spain.
Sorry for my english I am not very proficient in english, I don't use it too much.

I have previously used finite elements softwares like Phases 2/3D, flac3D and others to get solutions to my geotechnical models.

I have recently found this freeware looking for alternatives to rocsciences products to be used on my classroom and get free of licensing problems.

It seems amazing to me. It is a great job and I really appreciate the huge effort done by its developer.

I had it only scrapped its surface yet (both adonis and hyrcan) but both seem excelent implementations.

I have some questions about Adonis...
How is it formulated?

It seems to be model after FLAC's Lagrangian formulation and solution using finite differences.
So it seems not to used a static approach common in finite elements programs, and it can deal with problems not in equilibrium, and is more appropiate for plastic models.

But I could not find any info about that.
The program seems to hide all the complesity and you cannot tweak the solution method too much, just adjust the damping factor (flac uses several algorithms to adjust damping dynamically and solve the equation quicker. You can change it).
Due to the damping factor I asume that the program uses a Langrangian formulation.